Common Council


The City of White Plains is governed by a Common Council which consists of the Mayor and six council members. The seven-member Common Council is the city’s legislative body. The Council’s responsibilities include:

  • Adopting a budget
  • Appropriating monies
  • Enacting laws
  • Granting franchises
  • Selling or leasing properties
  • Approving Council appointments to boards and commissions and other appointments as required by law

Council members are elected at large and serve 4-year terms.